The Sanders Watney Trust is proud to work in conjunction with the Riding for the Disabled Association and the British Driving Society.  The RDA is split into 18 regions with over 70 regional groups. You will be able to contact your local area RDA representative on this page.

Carriage Driving Groups      

Driving has been an important part of RDA since 1975 and there are now almost 70 Groups involved.  By taking up driving in RDA you will be joining in with over 1000 other drivers! Carriage Driving is where a horse or pony is hitched to a wheeled carriage and driven around a course and you are the driver! Driving is a wonderful opportunity to make new friends, be out in the open air and have great fun at the same time.

RDA Carriage Driving is particularly useful if you can no longer ride due to disability or if you prefer a different kind of challenge to riding. Carriage Driving can range from a relaxing drive through the rolling countryside to exciting competitions where your ability to make quick decisions and having the confidence to control a fast moving carriage are put to the test.

If you are a confident driver and would like to compete there is opportunity for competition in RDA as well as British Carriagedriving (BC) and British Driving Society (BDS) shows.  Some drivers progress outside of RDA and attend training days and compete internationally. As well as the fun of driving you can also benefit from fantastic therapy benefits of improved coordination, improved muscle power and improved balance, many of which are the same benefits as you would get from riding.

     •     RDA South West Region

          Covering Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Somerset

          RDA Mid West Region

          Covering Gloucestershire, North Somerset & Bristol, Wiltshire

          RDA South Region

          Covering Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Hampshire, Oxfordshire

          RDA South East Region

          Covering Kent, Surrey, East Sussex, West Sussex

          RDA Greater London Region

          Covering North, Central, South East & South West London

          RDA West Mercia Region

          Covering Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, West Midlands, Worcestershire

          RDA North Midlands Region

          Covering Derbyshire, Leicesteshire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire

          RDA East Region

          Covering Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Suffolk

          RDA North West Region

          Covering Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside

          RDA North East & South Yorkshire Region

          Covering East Yorkshire & Ryedale, South Yorkshire

          RDA Yorkshire & Cleveland Region

          Covering Cleveland, North Yorkshire, West Yorkshire

          RDA North Region

          Covering Cumbria, Durham, Tyne & Wear, Northumberland

          RDA Edinburgh & Borders Region

          Covering Borders, Dumfries & Galloway, Edinburgh & Lothian, Fife

          RDA West & Central Scotland Region

          Covering Argyll, Ayr, Central Scotland, Perth, West Central Scotland

          RDA Grampian & Highland Region

          Covering Grampian, Highlands & Tayside

          RDA South Wales Region

          Covering Dyfed, Glamorgan, Gwent

          RDA North Wales Region

          Covering North Eastern & North Western Counties

          RDA Northern Ireland Region

          Covering Belfast & Co Down and North & West Northern Ireland